A converted soup lover.

Bill hates most soups. He’ll eat stews and chilis without argument. I suggest brocolli cheese and he freaks out. Until he tries it and realizes that it’s just broccoli with cheese sauce and told me to make it again. I have a convert. I may test the waters at another time with French onion soup. Yum!

I made this recipe myself after browsing several websites and realizing that, like many things, people were trying to over complicate food. To me food should be simple, nourishing, and just toss and go. Not that I don’t make things that are complicated, but for the most part I like to dump things together and walk away. Which is why I never make cookies, but bars. I don’t want to babysit my food.

I’m not a big fan of Velveeta, but for some things it really does just seem to need it. Homemade mac and cheese is another one. I have tried mac and cheese using real cheese, but it’s not quite right. It’s not something I buy often and it tends to hang out in the fridge for awhile until I use it again.

My only problem with this is that it’s not an all day dish. This is something that I get ready before work and Bill puts in the crock pot when he gets home for a late night dinner when I get home. Really late night.

Broccoli cheese soup
1 can cream of celery soup
1 lb Velveeta, diced (gosh that sounds like a lot)
1 ½ cups of milk
¼ cup onion, minced
16 oz frozen broccoli
Fresh pepper to taste

Dump all ingredients in the crock pot and cook for three hours.

Leave a Reply

